Home

I am a junior undergraduate at UCLA majoring in Philosophy. I want to take this opportunity to lay out why I return to this blog. To start with, I communicate better. It is not that I now write better or speak better than I did in my earlier posts, but I move to inform others in a clearer manner so they can base their judgments on some information I provide. Does that mean that I am a strong communicator? No. I could be providing bad information, however; I am capable of learning from those experiences in ways I was unable to prior. So, from this point forward I will attempt to integrate this site with the research and school work I am undertaking. At the very least, I can provide myself some notes to look at. At most, I provide an introduction for someone to some of my work or the work of others.

What I plan to do with this blog follows this formula. One of my first teachers at UCLA taught us that every night we should be reading for at least two hours and writing for at least one, and that no matter what we do going forward we should remember that rule. I was gung ho about it when I first heard it but have since fallen off and been unable/uninterested in getting back into it. For the past two days, I followed through with this exercise, and I see how much easier it is to build on rather than looking for large chunks of time on the weekend.

So…again, I am a junior undergraduate at UCLA majoring in Philosophy. At this point, I am reading Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire and John Rawls’ A Theory of Justice. I use the Pomodoro organizing technique through the site www.kanbanflow.com to time out reading and writing intervals (twenty-five-minute work/ five-minute break) and send me daily reminders. On this site, I will break down the books I am reading as many will be part either research or class studies, and add to my daily hour of writing. If I can, I will do my best to leave information that can help others.

Finally, this WordPress blog helped me sort things out in the past that I had trouble with. I hope to still be able to use it for that purpose, but I hope now that I can add a measured voice to a world that can use it. At the same time, it would be disingenuous of me to say that I am doing this altruistically. I need this to work so that I can be a better human being.

Leave a Reply

